Specsavers Series – 200m Freestyle

There was an exciting battle for first place honours and fastest time of the day between Orla Rabey and Sophie de la Mare in the 200m freestyle event of the Specsavers Series staged by the Beau Sejour Barracudas Swimming Club.  With a time of 2.11.74 the title went to Orla, with Sophie placing second in 2.13.48.

Fastest time of the day from the boys came from Will Mansell who touched in 2.02.36 in the 16 and over section.

In the youngest age group and competing in this event for the very first time were the 9 year olds.   Conor McKenna looked strong as he took first place honours in a great time of 3.13 90 not far off Miles Munro’s record set in 2005.   Breeshy Platt-Ransome took the girls title in a super time 3.27.63.

Oliver Graham continues to find his form in freestyle winning the 10 year age group in a time of 3.12.03 and improving on his entered time by over 12 seconds!  Second and third placed swimmers Jack Rees and Soren Lord both recorded huge personal best times, with Soren improving on his best by over 21 seconds!   The girl’s title went to Gabrielle Wilcox who improved on her entered time by over 3 seconds to touch in 3.03.40.  There was a close tussle for second and third between Lauren Varley and Erin Watterson who finished in 3.13.33 and 3.13.98 respectively.

Maddy Russell and Thierry Le Cheminant were the victors for the 11 year olds, Maddy posting 2.46.35 – a lifetime best by over 10 seconds and Thierry, a lifetime best by nearly 12 seconds of 2.45. 50.

The 12/13 age group saw Tatiana Tostevin a clear winner in 2.22.82.  The boy’s title went to Jake Williams in a personal best of 2.35.91.

The boys 14/15 title went to a gritty performance from Louis Tostevin, in a personal best of 2.14.23, whilst the 16 and over title went to Hannah Rosumek in 2.22.75.

There was an excellent turn out from the Barracuda Masters with Ian Hubert finishing inside the 25 to 34 age group record in 2.10.11, whilst Peter Frankland and Marcus O’Neill both finished inside the 35 to 49 year age group record with Peter the victor in 2.23.54.  Jacqui Hunt, Jennifer Roussel, Pauline Hubert, and Nick Moss all place first in their individual age groups.

The swimmer showing the greatest improvement on their entered time was Lea Phillips in the 10 year olds age group who improved by over 54 seconds to record 3.30.02